

HUMAN RESOURCES POLICY COMMITTEE

Held on Wednesday 29 November 2017 at 10.00 a.m. In the South Wing Council Room

MINUTES

Present: Professor Michael Arthur (Chair) Ms Wendy Appleby Dame Nicola Brewer Professor Stella Bruzzi Mr Simon Cane Dr Celia Caulcott Dr Mike Cope Professor Piet Eeckhout **Professor Mark Emberton Professor Becky Francis** Professor Mary Fulbrook Mr Andrew Grainger Mr Phil Harding Professor Graham Hart Mrs Lori Houlihan Mr Rex Knight Ms Collette Lux Professor Ivan Parkin Professor Alan Penn **Professor David Price Professor Geraint Rees** Mr Tom Rowson Ms Fiona Ryland Professor Anthony Smith Professor Alan Thompson Professor Nigel Titchener-Hooker

Apologies were received from Dr Paul Ayris and Professor David Lomas.

In attendance: Professor David Bogle, Pro-Vice-Provost of the Doctoral School (for paper 1-6a); Mr Geoff Lang, Director, HR Strategy and Planning; Dr Marguerite Nolan, Committee Secretary; and Mr Mark Rice, Head of Reward Policy.

PRELIMINARY FORMAL BUSINESS

- 1. CONSTITUTION, MEMBERSHIP AND TERMS OF REFERENCE HRPC 1-1 (17-18) OF THE HRPC FOR 2017-18
- 1.1 **Received:** The Committee received and noted the Constitution, Membership and Terms of

9. ANY OTHER BUSINESS

9.1 It was proposed and agreed that the HR Division would carry out a review of the Professorial Banding Criteria. This suggestion had been raised at the Academic Committee.