## Education Committee

6 December 2023

## Confirmed Minutes

## Present:

Professor Kathleen Armour (Chair)

Professor Simon Banks; Ms Karen Barnard; Dr Nicole Brown; Professor Parama Chaudhury; Mr Shaban Chaudhury; Ms Sarah Cowls; Mr Ian Davis; Professor Sally Day; Dr Julie Evans; Mr Daniel Farrell; Professor Ann Griffin; Ms June Hedges; Professor Arne Hofmann; Mr Ahmad Ismail; Dr Rachel King; Dr Sandra Leaton-Gray; Mr Zak Liddell; Ms Blathnaid Mahony; Dr Margaret Mayston; Dr Jennifer McGowan; Professor Norbert Pachler; Professor Paola Pedarzani; Professor Mary Richardson; Professor Aeli Roberts; Mr Mike Rowson; Dr Francesca Scott; Dr Hazel Smith; Ms Issy Smith; Dr Fiona Strawbridge; Professor Olga Thomas; Dr Nalini Vittal; Dr Kathryn Woods and Professor Stan Zochowski.

In attendance: Ms Lizzie Vinton (Minute 42), Ms Lisa French (Minute 43), Ms Kjell Horn (Minute 44); Ms Hannah Swallow (Minute 45); Mr Ashley Doolan (Secretary); Mr Rob Traynor (Assistant Secretary) and Ms Megan Gerrie (Observer).

Apologies: Mr Matteo Fumagalli, Ms Marie Gallagher, Professor Bill Sillar and Professor Nicola Walshe.

Part I: Preliminary Business

- 38. Welcome, Apologies and Announcements
- 38.1. The Chair led colleagues in extending thanks on behalf of Education Committee to Professor Simon Banks, Director of Education and Faculty Tutor in the Fa71 0an()lh()] TJering g Sc

## 40. Matters Arising

- 40.1. Arising from minute 28, it was noted that the following departments had been notified by the Chair of the IQR Panel that they would be receiving an IQR visit in 2023-24:
  - a) Department of Civil, Environmental and Geomatic Engineering
  - b) Department of Computer Science
  - c) Department of Economics
  - d) Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering
  - e) Department of Mechanical Engineering
  - f) Department of Philosophy
  - g) Department of Physics and Astronomy

40.2.

Education Committee 6 December 2023

- 46. Annual report on the operation of Faculty Education Committees
- 46.1. Received ±a report on the operation of Faculty Education Committees in the 2022-23 academic session at EDCOM 4-05 (23-24) prepared by the Assistant Secretary, which was commended by the Chair and approved.

Part III: Other Business for Approval or Information

- 47. Approval of new programmes of study
- 47.1. Approved ±the new programmes of study recommended by PMAP at EDCOM 4-06 (23-24).
- 48. Minutes of subcommittees and working groups
- 48.1. Approved ±the minutes of the 27 September 2023 meeting of the Quality and Standards Committee at EDCOM 4-07 (23-24).
- 49. Any other business
- 49.1. The Chair noted that work was being undertaken related to teaching-only contracts, and that further updates would be submitted to a future meeting of EdCom.
- 50. Date of the next meeting
- 50.1. (G & R Premaining meetings for the 2023-24 academic year are scheduled for:

Thursday, 1 February 2024, 14.00 - 16:30 Thursday, 25 April 2024, 14:00 - 16:30 Thursday, 27 June 2024, 14:00 - 16:30 Thursday 25 July 2024, 14:00 - 16:30

Ashley Doolan December 2023