

## **EDUCATION COMMITTEE**

## 2 October 2018

## MINUTES

Present: Professor Anthony Smith (Chair); Dr Tracey Allen; Ms Stefanie Anyadi; Ms Wendy Appleby; Dr Simon Banks; Mr Ian Davis; Dr Sandra Leaton-Gray - new Academic Board nominee

Dr Mike Porter – new Academic Board nominee

Dr Helen Matthews - ex officio in her new role as Head of Academic Policy and Quality Assurance

Ashley Doolan – co-opted to the committee in his role as the new Deputy Faculty Tutor for the Joint Faculties

1.3 **Approved** – the Terms of Reference, Constitution and Membership for the **Academic** 

period. There had also been a particular focus on improving the visibility and accessibility of student wellbeing resources. Whilst these changes had been challenging, they had resulted in a significant overall improvement in the student experience as well as a significant decrease in the number of complaints and reports of material irregularities during the exam period. There was still work to be done in a number of areas including the operation of on-campus Special Examination Arrangements facilities, and the quality of invigilation.

9.3 There had been a very high volume of overseas exams in the LSA period, which had led to issues with the quality of invigilation and the speed and efficiency with which papers were returned to Departments for marking. The Examinations Team were working on proposals for changes and would bring this to a future meeting. EdCom suggested that the policy was

11.2 The Policy Advisor (Education Governance) presented the annual analysis of discussions at FTCs. This indicated that the committees were operating well. The separation of PGR matters into discrete Faculty Research Degree Committees appeared to have been beneficial. There were some queries about the frequency of NSS discussions, however it was noted that the NSS and the student experience were factors in wide range of discussion topics, and the coding related only to items which were specifically about the NSS itself.

Thursday 6 December 2018 10.30am to 1pm - Keeton Room (XG01), Bentham House (Faculty of Laws)