## Council

Monday 13 September 2021 at 10:00am

Video-Conferencing meeting via Zoom

## **Minutes**

## **Present Members:**

Mr Victor Chu CBE (Chair); Mr Ayman Benmati; Mr Dominic Blakemore; Professor Lucie Clapp; Dr Alun Coker; Dr Martin Fry; Dr Andrew Gould; Ms Lindsay Nicholson

meeting.

#### 161. Introduction

- 161.1. The Chair of Council welcomed the following incoming members to the meeting as observers:
  - a. Professor Stephanie Bird, incoming elected professorial member of Council. Professor Bird would be joining Council on 1 October 2021.
  - Professor Jonathan Butterworth, incoming elected professorial member of Council. Professor Butterworth would be joining Council on 1 October 2021.
- 161.2. The Chair of Council noted that this would be Professors Lucie Clapp and Annette Dolphin last Council meeting as Council members. They would be finishing their terms on the 30 September 2021. Council thanked Professors Lucie Clapp and Annette Dolphin for their extraordinary service as UCL Council members.
- 161.3. The Chair of Council noted that meeting as Secretary to Council. Ms Appleby would be leaving UCL on 30 September 2021 and taking up the role of Vice-President (Operations) at the University of Southampton. Council congratulated Ms Wendy Appleby and thanked her for her outstanding support and guidance provided to Council throughout her time as Secretary to Council.
- 161.4. The Chair of Council paid tribute to Professor Sir Eric Ash, Head of the Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering (1980 1985) and former Rector of Imperial College (1985 1993) who had passed away peacefully on 22 August 2021 at the age of 93¹. Council expressed their deep condolences

#### 162. Declaration of Interests

- 162.1. The Chair of Council invited Council to declare any new interests they may have or any interests they had in the items being considered at the meeting.
- 162.2. There were no new declarations of interests declared.

### **163. Minutes** (13-01)

1631 Council approved the minutes of the meeting held on 8 July 2021.

.

2

# Council Minutes 13 September 2021

Ms Wendy Appleby, Secretary to Council September 2021